Skip to content

Comparison · researched 15 September 2026

Profound vs Otterly.AI

By Advik Jain, Co-founder & CEO, Optivus Technologies · Published 12 September 2026 · Updated 15 September 2026

Profound and Otterly.AI both track how AI answers mention your brand, for different buyers. Profound is an enterprise platform with prompt demand data and agents that act on it. Otterly.AI is low-cost daily monitoring open to the whole team.

The verdict

For most teams on a budget, Otterly.AI is the better buy: cheaper, more engines on self-serve plans and open to everyone. Profound is for enterprise programmes that want prompt demand data and agents that turn findings into content.

Choose Profound if

You run AI search as an enterprise programme and want agents to draft and publish from the findings.

Choose Otterly.AI if

You want daily tracking of more engines for less, with unlimited team members and API access.

At a glanceProfoundOtterly.AI
Starting price for AI tracking$99/mo$29/mo
AI engines on that plan1 of 74 of 7, +3 add-ons
RefreshNot publishedDaily
Score, by our published rules59 of 10070 of 100

Scores are calculated by our published rules, not assigned.

Feature by feature

What each tool does today, on the plans named in each row. Not described means the vendor’s pages do not mention it, which is not the same as the product lacking it.

FeatureProfoundOtterly.AI
AI engines on the cheapest tracking plan
ChatGPTYesYes
ClaudeNoPaid add-on
GeminiNoPaid add-on
PerplexityNoYes
AI OverviewsNoYes
AI ModeNoPaid add-on
CopilotNoYes
Tracking
How often answers are re-checkedNot describedDaily
Tracked prompts50 or 100 prompts15, 100 or 400 prompts
Prompt demand dataPrompt VolumesAI Prompt Research
AI crawler analyticsAgent AnalyticsAgent Analytics
Team members1 or 3 seatsUnlimited
API or MCP accessNot describedStandard and up
Fixing the gaps
Drafts and refreshes content, with approvalsAgentsNot described
Publishes to a CMSYesNot described
Buying
Starting price for AI tracking$99/mo$29/mo
Free trialOffered on GrowthTerms not stated
Enterprise securitySSO and SOC 2, EnterpriseGDPR and SSO
Sources and details for every rowWhat each cell is based on, and the plan it refers to

AI engines on the cheapest tracking plan

Tracking

Fixing the gaps

Buying

Want tracking and cited drafting in one tool?

Veritas, which we build, tracks five AI engines and drafts from your own documents with every knowledge-based claim cited. It re-checks every two weeks and has no API, so try it on your own site before deciding.

What a year costs

The cheapest published plan that fits each team, over twelve months, with seat fees and required add-ons. Where no published plan fits, the note says why instead of guessing.

ToolOne marketer, one brand1 seat, 50 tracked prompts, 1 brandTeam of five, one brand5 seats, 100 tracked prompts, 1 brandAgency, three brands10 seats, 300 tracked prompts, 3 brands
Profound$1,188lowestNo published fit1No published fit1
Otterly.AI$2,268$2,268lowest$5,868lowestoff scale
  1. 1No published plan tracks the prompts this setup needs; larger volumes are arranged with the vendor.

Bars share one scale across the whole table, so cost growth shows as well as rank. A figure far above the rest is marked off scale.

How each figure was worked outPlan, seats and add-ons behind every number

One marketer, one brand

  • Profound: Starter at $99 a month, over twelve months
  • Otterly.AI: Standard at $189 a month, over twelve months

Team of five, one brand

  • Profound: No published plan tracks 100 prompts; larger volumes are arranged with the vendor.
  • Otterly.AI: Standard at $189 a month, over twelve months

Agency, three brands

  • Profound: No published plan tracks 300 prompts; larger volumes are arranged with the vendor.
  • Otterly.AI: Premium at $489 a month, over twelve months

Standard monthly rates, without annual discounts unless a vendor publishes only a yearly price. Taxes, overage and negotiated terms are excluded. Indian rupee figures are converted at 95.2 INR to the US dollar, a rate we maintain by hand and review periodically. It is an approximation, not a live rate, and Veritas bills in rupees.

Veritas is not part of this comparison, but its prices are published if you want to weigh it too.Start a 7-day trialSee pricing

Side by side, question by question

The data behind the numbers

Profound’s demand data is the deeper foundation.

Edge: Profound

Profoundedge
Prompt Volumes estimates what people actually ask AI systems, alongside Answer Engine Insights and Agent Analytics for crawler behaviour.
Otterly.AI
AI Prompt Research uncovers the prompts, topics and intent patterns behind answers in a category, with daily tracking of mentions and citations.

Engines at each price

At self-serve prices, Otterly.AI covers more engines.

Edge: Otterly.AI

Profound
ChatGPT only on the $99 Starter; ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews on the $399 Growth; up to nine engines on Enterprise.
Otterly.AIedge
ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot on every plan from $29, with Claude, AI Mode and Gemini as add-ons.

Acting on findings

Profound does the work; Otterly.AI tells you what to do.

Edge: Profound

Profoundedge
Agents create net-new content, refresh declining pages and generate FAQs from your brand kit and knowledge base, with approvals and CMS publishing.
Otterly.AI
Content Audit with crawlability checks, content briefs and GEO optimisation recommendations.

Team and data access

Otterly.AI is easier to roll out widely.

Edge: Otterly.AI

Profound
One seat on Starter and three on Growth, with SSO, SOC 2 and custom seats on Enterprise.
Otterly.AIedge
Unlimited team members on every plan, with API and MCP access on Standard and Premium.

Price for 100 prompts

For the same prompt count, Otterly.AI costs less than half as much.

Edge: Otterly.AI

Profound
$399 a month on Growth, with three engines and three seats.
Otterly.AIedge
$189 a month on Standard, with four engines, daily refresh and unlimited members.

What would change our verdict

  • Either vendor publishing a refresh cadence, which would let us score both on a criterion we currently drop.
  • Profound offering multi-engine tracking below $399 a month, which is the gap Otterly exploits.
  • Otterly moving from briefs into drafting, which would remove Profound’s execution advantage.

Questions people ask

Which is better, Profound or Otterly.AI?

For enterprise AI search programmes that want prompt volume data and agents that act on it, Profound. For teams that want affordable daily monitoring with unlimited access and an API, Otterly.AI. The deciding questions are usually budget and whether you need the tool to create content.

Which is cheaper?

Otterly.AI, at every comparable point on prices read 11 September 2026: $29 against $99 to start, and $189 against $399 for 100 prompts.

Which tracks more AI engines?

On self-serve plans, Otterly.AI: four engines on every plan with three more as add-ons, against one on Profound Starter and three on Growth. On Enterprise, Profound lists up to nine.

Does either create content?

Profound does, through Agents that draft, refresh and publish with approvals. Otterly.AI audits content and writes briefs and recommendations rather than full articles.

The full reviews

Every feature, price, pro and con, each fact linked to the vendor page it came from.

Profound: full reviewEnterprise AI visibility analytics with real prompt volume data, plus Agents that turn findings into content.

Profound

Answer engine optimization platform

Best for: Enterprise brands that want the deepest AI answer analytics and an agent layer to act on it.

Profound is a dedicated answer engine optimisation platform built for large brands. Its core modules are Answer Engine Insights for how brands appear in AI conversations, Prompt Volumes for what people actually ask AI systems, and Agent Analytics for how AI crawlers read your site, across engines including ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek and Google AI Overviews.

It has added execution on top of measurement. Profound Agents create net-new content, refresh declining pages and generate FAQs using your brand kit, knowledge base, Answer Engine Insights and prompt data, with human approval before anything is published through a CMS integration. Profound raised a $96 million Series C at a $1 billion valuation in February 2026.

What it does

  • Answer Engine Insights: visibility tracking of how your brand is represented in AI conversations.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • Prompt Volumes: intelligence on what people ask AI systems, rather than prompts generated from keywords.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • Agent Analytics: crawl tracking across ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity and more.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • Agents that create net-new content, refresh pages and generate AEO FAQs from your brand kit and knowledge base, with human-in-the-loop approvals.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • CMS integration for publishing Agent output directly.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • Shopping, for product discovery optimisation in AI answers.source, 12 Sept 2026

Pros

  • The deepest measurement of any dedicated tracker compared here, including real prompt volume data.
  • Agents close the loop from finding to draft, with approval steps before publishing.
  • Enterprise controls on the top plan: SSO, SOC 2 and dedicated support.

Cons

  • The $99 Starter plan tracks ChatGPT only, with 50 prompts and one seat. source, 11 Sept 2026
  • Tracking three engines requires the $399 Growth plan; more than three is Enterprise. source, 11 Sept 2026
  • Keyword research, backlinks and technical site audits are not described on its product pages. source, 12 Sept 2026
  • The Agents page does not say which plans include Agents or how usage is metered. source, 12 Sept 2026

Pricing

  • Starter
    ChatGPT only; 50 prompts; 1 seat
    $99/mo
  • Growth
    ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews; 100 prompts; 3 seats
    $399/mo
  • Enterprise
    up to 9 answer engines
    Custom

Trial: “Try for free” offered on Growth; none listed on Starter. source, 11 Sept 2026

Recent changes

  • Raised a $96 million Series C at a $1 billion valuation, announced 24 February 2026. source, 12 Sept 2026

Ratings, as the vendor states them

  • Profound’s own comparison page describes it as #1 on G2 for AEO with 300+ reviews. source, 12 Sept 2026

Not the right fit for: Small teams tracking more than ChatGPT on a budget, or anyone who needs a full SEO toolkit alongside.

tryprofound.com
Otterly.AI: full reviewLow-cost daily monitoring of AI answers with unlimited team members, plus prompt research, content audits and briefs.

Otterly.AI

AI search monitoring

Best for: Teams that want daily, low-cost AI answer monitoring for everyone on the team, and do the content work elsewhere.

Otterly.AI is a monitoring-first platform for AI search. It tracks how brands are mentioned and websites cited across ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot on every plan, with Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini as paid add-ons, refreshing daily with unlimited team members.

Around monitoring it adds AI Prompt Research, a Content Audit with crawlability checks and content briefs, GEO optimisation recommendations, Agent Analytics, ChatGPT Ads tracking, and API and MCP access on its higher plans. It says more than 40,000 marketing professionals use it, and was named a Gartner Cool Vendor for AI in Marketing in 2025.

What it does

  • Every plan tracks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot daily; Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are add-ons.source, 11 Sept 2026
  • AI Prompt Research to uncover the prompts, topics and intent patterns behind AI answers in a category.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • Content Audit with crawlability checks, content audit and prediction, and content briefs.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • GEO optimisation recommendations for content.source, 12 Sept 2026
  • API and MCP access on Standard and Premium, plus Agent Analytics and ChatGPT Ads tracking.source, 11 Sept 2026
  • Unlimited team members on every plan.source, 11 Sept 2026

Pros

  • The lowest paid entry point among dedicated trackers, with daily refresh on every plan.
  • Unlimited team members, so everyone who acts on the data can see it.
  • API and MCP access from the middle plan for teams that want the data elsewhere.

Cons

  • Claude tracking costs $29, $109 or $439 a month on top of Lite, Standard or Premium. source, 11 Sept 2026
  • The $29 Lite plan tracks 15 prompts, too few for a steady mention rate across a category. source, 11 Sept 2026
  • Its product pages describe audits, briefs and recommendations rather than drafting or publishing full articles. source, 12 Sept 2026
  • Keyword research and backlink tools are not described on its product pages. source, 12 Sept 2026

Pricing

  • Lite
    $25/mo billed annually; 15 prompts
    $29/mo
  • Standard
    $160/mo billed annually; 100 prompts
    $189/mo
  • Premium
    $422/mo billed annually; 400 prompts
    $489/mo
  • Enterprise
    From $1,000/mo

Trial: Free trial offered from its homepage; terms not listed on the pricing page. source, 11 Sept 2026

Recent changes

Not the right fit for: Teams that want the tracker to draft and publish the fixes, or need Claude and Gemini without add-on fees.

otterly.ai
How the scores are calculatedThe arithmetic behind each score
ToolWeighted scoreCriteria scoredStrongest criterion
Otterly.AI707 of 8Refresh frequency
Profound596 of 8What happens after a gap

Eight rules, each applied to the published facts in the reviews and weighted to a total out of 100. The rules and weights are set out in our methodology.

How we researched this pageMethod, what each vendor does not publish, and the update log

What each vendor does not publish

Where a figure below is missing, the charts say so rather than estimate it.

Profound
  • Profound does not publish how often it refreshes results.
  • Profound does not say which plans include its Agents, or how Agent use is billed.
Otterly.AI
  • Otterly.AI offers a trial from its homepage but does not state the terms on its pricing page.

How we researched this page

Every fact about a tool other than Veritas comes from that vendor’s own pricing page, product pages, documentation or announcements. Each one is linked where it appears, with the date we read it.

We build Veritas and use it every day. We have not run paid accounts of every other tool on this page, so we describe what each vendor publishes rather than scores from tests we did not run. Where a capability was not described on a vendor’s pages, the table says exactly that, which is not the same as saying the product lacks it.

G2, Capterra and TrustRadius blocked our automated reads, so any rating shown is the figure the vendor publishes about itself, labelled as such.

Prices and plans change. We re-read every vendor page at least every 90 days and record what changed in the update log below.

The scores and cost figures on this page are calculated, not assigned. Our full methodology sets out every rule, what each criterion is worth, and where our evidence runs out.

Disclosure. Veritas is our product. It appears on this page because it competes in this category, and we have tried to state its limits as plainly as anyone else’s. If anything here is wrong or out of date, write to support@getveritas.io and we will correct it and note the change in the log.

Update log

  1. 15 September 2026Rebuilt verdict first: a short verdict with calculated figures, an engine-by-engine coverage grid and yearly cost charts, with full reviews, specs and method folded below. The intro was shortened; no facts were removed.
  2. 12 September 2026Published.

How this page was made. Veritas is our product. This page was written with AI assistance and checked against the vendor pages linked beside each fact, on the dates shown. Scores and costs are calculated by our published rules.

See it on your own site.

Start a 7-day trial on one domain. Nothing is charged until it ends.